Home Building

Clayton Home Building Group® Energy Star® Certified Homes Deliver More than $5 Million in Estimated Combined Annual Savings for Homeowners

34 Home Building Facilities Receive 2022 ENERGY STAR® Residential New Construction Market Leader Awards

August 2, 2022

MARYVILLE, Tenn., July 28, 2022 – Clayton Home Building Group®, a national home builder, celebrates the 34 Clayton off-site home building facilities across the country that each earned the 2022 ENERGY STAR® Residential New Construction Market Leader Award. Clayton Home Building Group remains committed to sustainable building methods while providing homeowners with modern energy efficient features.

In 2021, Clayton Home Building Group constructed and installed 19,994 ENERGY STAR® certified homes – an impressive increase from the nearly 14,000 in 2020. ENERGY STAR® estimates the nearly 20,000 homes constructed in 2021 resulted in more than $5.3 million dollars in total utility bill savings.

ENERGY STAR® certified homes are at least 10 percent more energy efficient than those built to local and state code and achieve a 20 percent improvement on average while providing homeowners with better quality, performance, and comfort, according to ENERGY STAR®.

“Our team members continue to drive change in the home building industry, and this award is a reflection of our continued dedication to building affordable homes with sustainability and efficiency in mind,” said Keith Holdbrooks, President of Clayton Home Building Group. “This is the second time many of these facilities have received this distinction, and we’re grateful to our team members who continue to help provide affordable housing options for thousands of families that move into our homes each year.”

According to ENERGY STAR®, certified homes are quieter and more comfortable, have lower utility bills and help protect the environment by reducing greenhouse gas emissions. To earn the ENERGY STAR® certification, homes must meet strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). The following Clayton home building facilities were recognized with the ENERGY STAR® Market Leader Award in the manufactured housing category:

• Clayton Addison I
• Clayton Addison II
• Clayton Albany
• Clayton Albuquerque
• Clayton Appalachia
• Clayton Athens
• Clayton Bonham
• Clayton Buckeye
• Clayton Giles
• Clayton Hermiston
• Clayton Lewistown
• Clayton Maynardville
• Clayton Middlebury
• Clayton Nashville
• Clayton Oxford
• Clayton Perris
• Clayton Redwood Falls
• Clayton Richfield
• Clayton Rutledge
• Clayton Sacramento
• Clayton Savannah
• Clayton SE of Texas
• Clayton Waco I
• Clayton Waco II
• Clayton Wakarusa I
• Clayton Wakarusa II
• Clayton Waycross
• Clayton Rockwell
• Russellville
• TRU White Pine
• TRU Halls
• TRU Riverbirch
• TRU Belton II
• TRU Lynn

The Market Leader Award recognizes partners participating in the EPA’s ENERGY STAR® Residential New Construction program who have made a significant positive impact in energy-efficient construction and environmental protection by building or verifying at least 50 ENERGY STAR® certified homes, or by sponsoring a local program that supported these activities, over the past year. More than 120,000 ENERGY STAR® certified single-family homes and multifamily units were built in 2021, for a total exceeding 2.3 million since 1995.

PR - 2022 Energy Star Awards

About Clayton
Founded in 1956, Clayton is committed to opening doors to a better life and building happyness® through homeownership. As a diverse builder committed to quality and durability, Clayton offers traditional site-built homes and off-site built housing – including modular homes, manufactured homes, CrossMod™ homes, tiny homes, college dormitories, military barracks and apartments. All Clayton Built® homes are proudly designed, engineered and assembled in America. In 2021, Clayton built 60,701 homes across the country. Clayton is a Berkshire Hathaway company. For more information, visit claytonhomes.com.

*CrossMod is a trademark of Manufactured Housing Institute.

ENERGY STAR and the ENERGY STAR mark are registered trademarks owned by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.